Day 13: Geneva (24 Mar) #2

on

A/N: Hi there! First off, I’ll like to apologize for missing the last 3 scheduled posts, got caught up a little in work. Nevertheless, I’ll try to make it up over the weekend, and have more posts coming your way on Patreon soon!

20170324_121930

I rode the No.5 bus from the Palace of Nations back into downtown Geneva (or what I assumed was downtown Geneva), alighting near the Rue de la Croix Rouge.

My goal in the area was the Cafe du Bourg-de-Four, as it was nearing lunchtime and I’ve heard plenty of good reviews regarding the aforementioned cafe. The place wasn’t that hard to find, though the area was a little more quiet than what I had expected.

20170324_122412
Staggered streets up the hillside.
20170324_122432
This was by no means the only cafe in the area. In fact, there were plenty more options open.

Besides being well known for its cafes and shopping, the Place du Bourg-de-Four, from which the cafe draws its name from, is Geneva’s oldest square. It does have a nice ‘old town’ sort of atmosphere to it. However, be a little cautious on the prices there, especially for food.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Continuing up the Rue de l’Hôtel-de-Ville, there were plenty of art and decorations stores in the area, as well as several buildings which I assume held offices for the local government, judging by the plaques on their doorways. Taking a side street to the right, I came across something that I wasn’t expecting, but recognized nonetheless.

DSC_0667
You could see people jogging everywhere and anytime in Europe, even when it is 2 in the afternoon.
DSC_0669
Christie’s!

I’m by no means a fan of art, in fact the first time I read about Christie’s was in a spy novel. But it is kind of surreal to actually bump into something that you’ve only read about, but never seen before.

DSC_0670

Further down the road from Christie’s was the St Pierre Cathedral. By this stage, I had pretty much ditched my drafted plans and was free-roaming around. Coming across the cathedral was purely luck.

 

 

DSC_0676
And from the front. While I was taking this picture, a dog went up to one of the

 

 

DSC_0673
The cathedral from the side.
DSC_0676
And from the front. While I was taking this picture, a dog went up to one of the bollards and relieved itself. It was kind of funny, trying to avoid taking a picture with the dog minding its own business in it.

Many of the cathedrals that I visited had archaeological sites beneath them, and this one was no different. You can spot the entrance to the site in the picture above. It’s through the gated stairs beneath the large window.

I didn’t visit the archaeological site, but I did take a short trip of the cathedral itself.

DSC_0678
Those heavy wooden doors seem to be able to hold about anything at bay.

Beside the cathedral was another International Museum of the Reformation. Not sure what it exhibits. For me, it was just a passing interest.

DSC_0680
The cathedral from the Museum of the Reformation’s side.

Ducking through several paths and alleys, I came upon a couple terraces overlooking the streets below. There were some people having their lunch beneath the cherry blossom trees, which reminds me: You might even find more cherry blossoms in Europe than you would in Japan.

DSC_0682
View of the lower terrace and the surrounding area from the upper terrace. The upper terrace also hold the ruins of a medieval prison, though it is now anything but recognizable. On the left is the Taverne de la Madeleine.
DSC_0685
I’ll have to admit, European city councils did their landscaping pretty well in contrast to their Malaysian counterparts.

By then, it was well into lunchtime and my stomach was growling rather uncomfortably, so I hastened to find some food, and voila: I came upon the Taverne de la Madeleine.

I’ll end this post with a map of my route through the old town area Geneva. Next up, the Taverne de la Madeleine!

geneva.png
The tavern is marked on the map by a red star.
Leave a Reply

