Gear Highlight: Casio AE1100W-1A

Hello my dear readers, as you know, I had stated in my previous post that I will only post on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. However, since I have some free time on hand this weekend, I decided to do an extra post: a gear highlight!

This particular post will be regarding my Casio AE1100W-1A watch. Sadly, there’s no shorter or more recognizable official name, though I fondly refer to it as the ‘World Traveler.’

I received and started using this watch in 2011, possibly earlier. And remarkably, it held up very well throughout these seven years of use. It has accompanied me on more adventures than I can remember: Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Macau, all over Europe, and these are just the foreign destinations that I can name off the top of my head.

Let me be clear that I’m in no regards gentle in its daily use. I wear it nearly everywhere, including through three months of military training, my NERF meetups, to classes, to events and also to sports. The original resin band that came with it broke after 5 years of use, and I replaced it with a paracord band that I cobbled together from instructions on the Internet. That is what you can see in the following photos:

collage.jpg
My Casio AE1100W-1A. Worn but still going strong. Shown on left in Amsterdam using CEST UTC+1 and on the right in London using UTC+0. Note the city codes and their respective shaded areas.
AE1100W-1A_large.png
The World Traveler’s original look. You could see how daily use has worn it to what it is in the previous image.

As you’ll notice, the original silver sheen on the outer ring has faded off, the strap broke (as mentioned earlier) and the watch face sports plenty of scratches from my constant abuse. However, core functions remain stable with the exception of occasional fading of the display when I press (not hold) the ADJUST button on the top left. It wasn’t a real bother though, and it might be a battery issue since it was through 7 of its 10 year lifespan.

For functions, it has nearly all the bell and whistles that a traveler might need, save the altimeter, thermometer and compass found in higher tier Casios (I did say traveler, not adventurer or something of the sort).

  • 1 press of MODE brings you to World Time, which provides you with another easily accessible time display other than your native time zone.
  • Another press of MODE brings you to Alarm. Specifications state that it is capable of 5 alarms as well as one-time/daily modes, but I’ve never used it that much.
  • 3rd press of MODE brings you to Timer. Countdown timer, self explanatory.
  • 4th press of MODE brings you to Stopwatch, with elapsed time, split time and a lot of other functions that I don’t understand, nor use.
  • 5th press of MODE will bring you back to your native time zone display with a distinctive ‘beep’ tone rather than the lower tone ‘beep’ for every other press of MODE.

And before anyone asks me if I’ve done torture tests on the watch, I did swim with it a few times, both in pools and seawater. It has also seen the inside of an operating washing machine, while also getting a chill in the freezer (not frozen in water though). Highest temperature I had it operating in was about 38°C. Don’t look at me that way, I don’t plan on melting it.

All in, I’m pretty happy with my World Traveler, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a multi-time zone watch. I realize that it is an old model, but hey, if it works, why break it?

Link to the model page on Casio’s website.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pingback: Energy Management

Leave a Reply

