Day 3: London (14 Mar) #3

After Westminster, I headed down to Kensington Palace, via the Circle line from St James Park to Gloucester Road.

DSC_0229.JPG
St James Park. I’ll always remember this place from that damnable game called Monopoly.
DSC_0230.JPG
And what it looks like beneath the surface.

In hindsight, I should’ve gone down one more station to High Street Kensington. But you know what they say. I got quite a lot of exercise and a good look down Gloucester Road.

DSC_0231.JPG
Paths.

I’m not sure the park I passed through from Gloucester Road was Hyde Park or Kensington Gardens, but it was beautiful.

There’s a whole flock of pigeons, ducks and swans down near the round pond.

20170314_123546.jpg
Ducks! And pigeons… again.
20170314_123658.jpg
The swans aren’t too happy if you get close to them without food.

I actually overshot Kensington Palace first time round while I was walking north past the round pond, and had to double back near the Orangery to the Sunken Garden. simply magnificent.

20170314_124544.jpg
Guess who? Sunken Gardens on the right.

DSC_0237.JPG

DSC_0238.JPG

DSC_0239.JPG

20170314_132125.jpg

 

After Kensington, my next stop was Buckingham Palace, via the No.10 bus. That’s my first time riding a red double-deck bus! One thing to remember on London buses is that you only touch your Oyster in, but not out.

DSC_0243.JPG
A random bus stop. All of them look alike though, save for the totem.
DSC_0244.JPG
The Household Cavalry!

On the way down there, the buses happened to pass by the barracks for the Household Cavalry. Interesting nugget.

I got off near Hyde Park corner, and walked the remaining distance to Buckingham Palace. The route passes by a number of war memorials, including the WW1 artillery memorial and the Wellington Arch.

DSC_0246.JPG
The Wellington Arch, to be honest all the arches looked similar to me.
DSC_0245.JPG
The artillery memorial.
DSC_0249.JPG
On the path to Buckingham Palace. There was a helicopter leaving nearby when I took this shot though. Was it the Queen?
Leave a Reply

